National sun safety week

Hello and good morning! The sun is shining, quite apropos for a bit about sun safety given that it’s National Sun Safety Week this week!

Sunshine – I love it.  Living in the north,  it’s a running joke that we will reference extremely cold temps with sunlight exposure. “Sure,  it’s -40 but the sun is shining!”  We get such a quick summer some years that I try to maximize our sun enjoyment – because it is a JOY – as much as I can.

For the kids, that means lots of outside time. Outside time = sunscreen (sprays make it easy), hats, and swim rash guards when in the water.  Plus, we take our rest time and reading/school breaks after lunch,  when the sun’s rays are the strongest.

On the other hand, adults don’t always do what we are supposed to do… you know, sunscreen, hats, cover up, etc.  Two of my go-to products year-round (I’m learning, I really am!) are Supergoop!’s everyday SPF 50 sunscreen and my Cotz SPF 40 tinted sunscreen. These two products are both reasonably priced, have a great level of SPF protection, and help me minimize my makeup routine to get me out the door on time but still able to protect my skin.

There are other things I’ve learned to do that also help minimize the risks of skin cancer. First, after I spray sunscreen on the kids, I spray myself as well.  I take my mid-day breaks inside as much as I can along with the kids, or at least try to find a little shade. I don’t tan, and don’t intentionally “lay out” to get tan. I cover up… hats, a swim cover up, even sunglasses help protect your skin. Plus, I’ve found that taking a daily vitamin D supplement and boosting my intake of natural sources of Vitamin D really help as well, the whole year round. I’m partial to salmon, eggs, nuts, and cheese… not all together, of course. 😉

When I was much younger, I had a couple of moles removed from my face because of the risk of skin cancer. If you have moles or freckles, and even if you do not, be sure to watch for those ABCDE’s:

Asymmetry (one side different than the other)
Borders (border irregularity)
Color (darker than normal)
Diameter (larger than a pencil eraser, or approx 6mm)
Evolution (changes over time, often growing)

This post was encouraged by Hi Oscar, a New York based insurance company that uses technology to help members stay informed. If you’re in the area and in search for a new type of NY health insurance provider by check them out. They have a team of health professionals on call for any and all health questions their members may have, even something as simple as what SPF they should be using to protect themselves safely.“We think health insurance should be simple, human, and smart. Aside from the  health professional on call team, Ii’s even free to talk with a doctor over the phone anytime. We care about all aspects of our members health.”

Skin cancer is the most common type of cancer diagnosed. With all that we can do to protect our largest organ… shouldn’t we make the time to do so?

Best,
Jen

Leave a Reply

