Beauty box review: {Birchbox} March 2014

Hello there and welcome to beauty Saturday! After receiving one of the first Birchboxes shipped the past few months, I was on the end of the list this month! Oh well, it was my turn I guess – my box didn’t ship until the 10th, but it arrived yesterday! That was quick (in my experience – I’m in the midwest)!

New to Birchbox? Here’s the scoop:

What you get: 4-5 samples of beauty, health, and wellness items, which can include anything from sweet treats to tea, tech accessories, hair accessories, skincare, nail care, and makeup. 

What you pay: $10/month for the women’s subscription (the men’s box is $20/month), shipping included.

The perks: You earn 1 point for each dollar you spend in the Birchbox store, and 100=$10 to spend. If you review the items in your box each month, you earn points as well! There’s free shipping on all box items each month, so you can buy inexpensive items and not pay additional shipping charges. 

This is my March box. This theme is “Spring Forward.”

20140314_120818

The pretty pink tissue paper is perfect for spring!

There’s always a card that explains the theme for the month and on the back, lists the products you’ve received with the full size price. Of course, I cheated and looked to see what I was receiving before my box arrived!

20140314_120848

Here are my samples:

20140314_120933

Coola tinted matte SPF 30 for face, value: $3.60

I’ve tried the untinted Coola before, so I’m interested to see how I like the tinted version!

Caudalie vinosource moisturizing sorbet, value: $9.75

This is a great sample size! The reviews on this are very good, so I’m excited to try it.

Air Repair rescue balm, value: $3 (approx)

The sample size is not listed on the (very small) tube.  I tested a bit on my lips and let me tell you, a little goes a LONG way!  It feels very moisturizing. This will be perfect for the end of winter when my lips and hands are still chapped from the cold!

Agave healing oil treatment (hair), value: $1.00

I fell in love with the Beauty Protector Protect & Oil in my last Birchbox, and so I’m excited to try this one! The full size is quite expensive, though, so it would be something I’d save up BB points to purchase!

And one Birchbox find (a mass-market sample):

20140314_121016

Jergens BB body cream, value: $1.57

My favorite BB cream is Ponds, so I’m excited to try this sample. I have to note, though, that is a BODY bb cream, which is interesting. I am more concerned about correcting facial skin imperfections… maybe I’ll save this for summer! The $2 coupon is a nice touch. It’s currently on sale at Target for $10.79 (reg. price $11.99), so that would be a good deal!

I’m happy with my box! The products I received total about $23 in value and I can use everything I received! What did you get in your Birchbox this month? 🙂

Best,
Jen

One thought on “Beauty box review: {Birchbox} March 2014

  1. I received some different items in my box! I did get the BB cream and the Air Repair rescue balm that you received. I accidently used the BB cream on my face – HA! It worked nicely though 😉 Thanks for the info as it is nice to see what else is out there 🙂

Leave a Reply

