Beauty box review: Emily’s Homestead {etsy}

Good morning! It’s beauty Saturday here again and I have another box from Emily’s Homestead to review! You can read all about my trial box here (and if you want to do the same, just message Emily on Etsy. She is wonderfully accommodating and she responds quickly!)

Emily’s Homestead offers soaps, shampoo bars, deodorant, and lotion.  There are soap and box subscriptions as well!

Cost: $42/3 months, $78/6 months, $150/year – I paid $14 for one month (soap of the year subscription: $75/one bar each month)

Ships to: USA

What you get: small flat rate box with an assortment of soaps, lotion bars, shampoo bars, deodorant, lip balms, etc. You may get all soaps or a medley of products.

I decided after my last box to sign up for a subscription. FYI, for those of you who are frustrated by boxes that ship partway into the month: Emily had shipped my box before the end of February! It arrived very quickly.

Here was my first ‘official’ box:

Everything arrives in a small flat rate box!

Everything arrives in a small flat rate box!

DSCF3722

Pretty packaging really makes it feel like a got a birthday gift in the mail (yes, I am a March baby)!

Emily sent a receipt as well as information on the subscription service and a page about the shampoo bars, as I had one in my box to sample. Helpful hint: they are also a great body soap!

Emily sent a receipt as well as information on the subscription service and a page about the shampoo bars, as I had one in my box to sample. Helpful hint: they are also a great body soap!

What I received this month!

What I received this month: 2 soaps, one hair shampoo bar, one deodorant

Shampoo bar: Eucalyptus Spearmint (value: approx $7.50)

Soap bar: Wake Up! (basil and mint), 3 oz, (value $3.25); Handcrafted herb garden soap,  6 oz, (value $6)

Priobiotic deodorant: lavender vanilla, (value $4.25)

I have never tried a shampoo bar before, so I gave it a whirl the past three days. I really like it! Your hair does feel… odd after washing so I followed the instructions and used a regular conditioner. My hair has been very smooth and soft! And yes, the soap also works great as a body soap! I love the spearmint in the morning to help wake me up! In fact, the Oatmeal Peppermint soap I got in my last box is already gone. I nearly wept – love the scrubby factor and the bright mint to wake me up at 5:30 am!

I am still testing the probiotic deodorant. Unfortunately, I’ve been sick the past couple of days and I haven’t been able to do much. It seems to work great while I’m just doing things around the house (and let’s be honest, sitting and trying NOT to do things while I feel like crud) but I haven’t tested it while I go to the gym or run errands or… in the heat; though we might be waiting another 3 months for that to happen. So, I’m on the fence so far. I adore the lavender vanilla scent and I’m hoping it continues to work great for me!

{Emily sent me the deodorant as an extra, since I mentioned in my last post that I was hoping to try a sample in my box at some point. How sweet and generous of her! Even removing the value of the deodorant from my box, the value still exceeds the price I paid.)

I paid $14 for the box, shipping included, and received products worth $21! I am VERY pleased with this month’s box! The value is great for the price and I got. I love that I got new products to try as well as new scents! 🙂 I can’t wait to see what I get in April! I encourage you to check out this shop – the products are great!

Best,

Jen

 

 

Leave a Reply

