Beauty box review: Emily’s Homestead {etsy}

Hello there!

I’ve decided to make Saturdays ‘beauty day’ on my blog, so if you are interested in product reviews and subscription box reviews, look for more coming to you on Saturdays (next week: February Birchbox)!  🙂

Today I received an order from Emily’s Homestead on Etsy.  Several days ago I was searching for some new-to-me soap makers as I wanted to order some bar soaps. (I find most commercial body washes to be drying, especially in the winter, so for the past several years I’ve been buying soaps on etsy. Did you know a lot of soap makers offer their ‘oops soaps’ at steep discounts? You can’t choose scents, but it’s a great economical way to get great soap. And it’s kind of a mystery box as well, haha!) I found some  stores that looked promising but I was also waiting rather impatiently for my Birchbox info to update and I thought, ‘Hey, I wonder if any etsy sellers offer beauty box subscriptions?’  That’s how I found Emily’s shop! She also has a website if you prefer to order that way.

Emily’s Homestead offers soaps, shampoo bars, deodorant, and lotion.  There are soap and box subscriptions as well! I was interested in trying just one box, which wasn’t an option on Etsy, so I contacted Emily and she set up a one-month custom listing for me. 

Cost: $42/3 months, $78/6 months, $150/year – I paid $14 for one month (soap of the year subscription: $75/one bar each month)

Ships to: USA

What you get: small flat rate box with an assortment of soaps, lotion bars, shampoo bars, deodorant, lip balms, etc. You may get all soaps or a medley of products.

Here’s what I received!

Shipped in a small, flat rate box. Pretty gold foil! Also included: business card and receipt with a hand-written note!

It was shipped in a small, flat rate box – pretty gold foil! Also included: business card and receipt with a hand-written note!

4.5 oz soap: woodland walk 3 oz soap: peppermint oatmeal 3 oz soap: pumpkin spice lotion stick: .75 oz

4.5 oz soap: woodland walk // value: $6
3 oz soap: peppermint oatmeal // value $3
3 oz soap: pumpkin spice value // $3
lotion stick: .75 oz // value $3.50

woodland walk (left)  pumpkin spice (right) aren't they PRETTY?

woodland walk (left)
pumpkin spice (right)
aren’t they PRETTY? Check out the swirls!

the lotion stick. It's unscented and glides on really nicely, not greasy at all!

the lotion stick. It’s unscented and glides on really nicely, not greasy at all! This will be great for my gym bag.

Overall I was very pleased with this box! The soaps are highly scented – they smell amazing! I tried the peppermint oatmeal soap to wash my hands, and it lathered nicely and left my hands soft.  I prefer scrubby soaps so I may order some of this! The lotion bar is very nice and I love that it’s unscented, so it won’t clash with my perfume. That means it’s also great for my husband, as he prefers unscented things and often steals my lotion!

I was hoping to try the natural deodorant, so I’m undecided if I will simply place an order or sign up for a subscription. I think the value is quite good; I paid $14 including shipping and received a box of products worth $15.50.

Have you tried Emily’s products before? What other Etsy sellers do you recommend?

Best,

Jen

Leave a Reply

