Operation Write Home World Cardmaking Day HOP! Thanks, hero!

Hello! 
I’m so happy you are here for the Operation Write Home blog hop! Click on the link above to see all of the links; there’s always great inspiration! Today we are using OWH sketches (a new sketch is posted every Sunday) to make thank you notes. 

My story for this card is too long for this post, so if you would like the back story of how I made this card for a local hero who was interviewed for our local phone book’s “Tribute To Veterans” edition, go to this post

I won’t tell you that I didn’t read the directions and use a sketch to make this card, soooo… let’s say this is based on sketch 189 and I REALLY played around with the measurements   ‘K? Good. 🙂
My Mind’s eye Lost & Found 6×6 (Christmas papers, go figure!)
Paper Smooches Circle of Honor sentiment stamps
Stamping up Ruby Red and Momento tuxedo black inks

Now go read that back story and comment to win some blog candy. Wherever you are, I hope you are having a beautiful day!  Thanks for visiting me!

Jen
40 thoughts on “Operation Write Home World Cardmaking Day HOP! Thanks, hero!

  1. The holiday paper you chose looks so patriotic! I love the banners peeking out from your sentiment. I read your backstory which was wonderful. Please exclude me from your drawing – I have too much paper in my own stash.

  2. Even before I became a military mom, I was attracted to patriotic paper. I have always looked at the sketches as a jump starter, so I think that your card turned out the way it was meant to be. Besides, it is totally cute.

  3. Your card is adorable! Great patterned papers, fun sentiment and font, and fun design! Your story of how you were inspired to make this card just made me smile! I am a huge supporter of OWH and love hearing how others spread the word!

  4. What a great idea to use those 2 stamps together in different colors! I am going to borrow that idea! I especially like how the 2 little banners match the paper in the vertical stripe. Great card! TFS

  5. Love the layout!! And I really like how you inked the HERO in red— a really nice, small touch that makes a big impact! Great paper selection! Thanks for your support of OWH and our troops!

  6. This is great Jen! Glad it wasn't just me who totally zoned out on using a sketch but was lucky enough to find one pretty close. LOL I never once thought to combine these Paper Smooches stamps…. Duh! They're perfect together. Glad you were able to join in the hop. Thanks for supporting OWH!

  7. Ah ha, you failed to read the fine print for this blog hop, huh? I did read them; doesn't mean I remembered. Still I'm lost without the sketches so I've always got one to point to. I am learning much from Sandy and the OWH posse.

  8. I really like this, great color combination. I giggled a little, sometimes I too read directions really quick and miss an important part! But, the sketch is just a starting point, right 😉

  9. Don't you love when papers can be used for other than their intended use? You did a great job using Christmas papers on a wonderful card for a local vet. I imagine he'll love it more than any of us will.

  10. Hi Jen, as you can see, I'm still far from finished hopping! So many great cards; I love yours. That awesome sentiment jumps off the page! I had a similar experience re the sketch requirement…nuff said, lol!

Leave a Reply

