Unity’s FWF 10/14 – Be Jolly, By Golly

And I’m trying, I’m really trying to be jolly. Angela’s post yesterday about taking your health for granted really struck a chord with me. My nephew, age 8, just had surgery on his kidneys. He overcame prostate cancer at age 3. Most of his short life he has dealt with doctors and hospitals and surgeries and tests.  And this past week, my adorable daughter, who’s five, was diagnosed with epilepsy.

That is the face of epilepsy.

So I have learned not to take good health for granted. Our tiny, little “home away from home” parish always says a prayer for the sick before Mass begins. It reminds me to be compassionate to others, and we are trying to be jolly even in the midst of uncertainty. Life goes on and we should live it to the fullest.
Here is my card for today:

I was going to enter it in the KOM sketch, but I just realized I didn’t use KOM stamps. Oh well. I think it’s cute anyhow. Those snowmen make me happy!

(Basic Grey Jovial collection, sentiment from Unity Stamp Co/Jillibean Christmas Eve Chowder, Twinery Twine)

Be sure to stop back at the Unity blog to check out everyone’s projects and the Friday $5 Feature!

Jen

22 thoughts on “Unity’s FWF 10/14 – Be Jolly, By Golly

  1. Eek! So cute! I love the layout of the card and of course the cute snowmen. I read your earlier post about your daughter, and I'm glad you're getting help at school, too. Good luck with the adjustment– *hugs*

  2. Its a great take on the KOTM Sketch, and I just love the cute snowman paper. My thoughts go out to you during this time of adjustment given the recent diagnosis regarding your daughters health.

  3. Adorable card! The paper is perfectfor your sentiment!
    Keeping both your nephew and your sweet little one in my prayers. Sending you giant hugs of comfort!

Leave a Reply

