OWH MWT – Layers Challenge

The mid-week throwdown challenge over at the Operation Write Home Stars & Stamps blog today is to use multiple layers on a card. Fun!!!

Yesterday was pretty exciting at my house. I recently got a Cuttlebug and it just dawned on me the other week that I could use Nestabilities. Overstock had some really good prices on the 4-pack bundles with free shipping, so I ordered the petite and scalloped circles set and then waited rather impatiently. I found a rubber gasket at my hardware store and picked up a C plate from my local stamping store, and yesterday the Nesties arrived! (Note: the gasket works REALLY well. $8 saved!)

I cut and embossed the circle before I found the DP I wanted to use, so I used chalks to make it look aged. I accidentally touched my marker to the side of the sentiment when I was coloring the flowers, so I decided a button would make a great, strategic addition. :p

I know you’ve seen me use this sentiment from Unity before – I just love it! It’s from the Simple Life (past KOM) kit, and it is just SO versatile. And true! We should live each day to the fullest.

There’s a great prize package from Stamp Fairy that will be awarded to those participating in the challenge this week. You should play, too! Thanks for looking!

Card recipe:
Sentiment: Unity Stamp Co
DP: Autumn Leaves adhesive fall mat pack
Ribbon: American Crafts
Momento Rich Cocoa Ink; Bic mark-its markers
EK Success border punch
Scrap cardstock and button

8 thoughts on “OWH MWT – Layers Challenge

  1. Don't you just love it when those buttons or flowers come in handy to disguise those oopsies!? That was a perfect embellishment for this great card, and I agree – it's a fabulous sentiment! NJ!

  2. I love sentiments that hold their own! This is really elegant, Jen. Don't you hate it when something is perfect and then there's that one little touch? I had that happen when I removed a mask and the image popped back on to the stamp. Argh! You hid this one perfectly. 😉

Leave a Reply

